How do I know if I’m the boho, classic, or preppy girl!?

In regards to fashion, I get a lot of questions about how to create a unique but trendy, personal style. My answer depends on how much time you have to listen! So here is the answer for those who have more then a minute to chat: It doesn’t happen over night and it takes time. We ALL have those “fashion regrets” as I call them. (What on earth was I doing thinking a mini skirt and UGGs were cool, in the middle of winter nonetheless!?) You have to mess up in order to succeed. Some risks you take will pay off, and some won’t. You just have to be willing to try. How do you know if you are the classic girl? You have to try the “Classic girl” pieces and see if it feels like you! People always the ask, “Well how do I know if that’s right?” Honestly? It’s all a feeling (and I’m not just saying that because I’m a Psych major). You’ll know how comfortable you may, or may not be as you are trying out new looks. That is just the price of the game. The most important tip I have to offer about creating your own style is (drum roll please…) to pay attention to the style of clothing you gravitate towards, and pay attention to those pieces you see that girl on the street wearing that you can’t help but gawk over. That will give you somewhat of a guideline as far as what direction to head towards. People watching can be more then just analyzing your neighbor. I can’t even count how many times I’ve seen someone on the street that has inspired my outfit for the next day. The part where it becomes personal is how you change your inspiration to fit you! For example, I like long flowy tops, and big loose cardigans. Like I’ve said before, I can’t stay away from leggings either (PS the way I figure that out is by trying as many different style of clothes that I can get my hands on). That most likely puts me in the boho category. So then, when I’m looking to update my wardrobe and do a little shopping, I tend to hit all the boho themed stores. I don’t take an outfit idea straight from a mannequin. I take my favorite piece from the mannequin, and add it to another piece that I love from a completely different store. That way I can show my point of view from my outfit. I still feel trendy and current, but I mixed it up and made it my own. The picture below is the result!

personal style

You and I could go shopping together and pick two totally different favorite pieces from the same mannequin, and come up with completely different outfits, but both be in the boho category. There you have it, trendy and unique all in the same package! Now go do some people watching, and start creating your personal style!

Leave a Reply

