The most important unit in the world

I have had this post in my “saved draft” file for a few months now. But I was waiting for the right time to post its. But today is the day! It’s my favorite person on the planet’s birthday today. I love my Mom more then anyone, or anything. The best present I could think to give her, is to remind her of her families love for her. My whole family hasn’t been in the same room at the same time, in almost 3 years. Some days it’s easy to forget what it’s like to be a whole unit, and I know it hurts my Mama’s heart. So here is a taste of what it’s like when we are all in the same room, at the same time. I love you more then life itself. Here’s to you and your biggest dream come true. Your crazy kids 🙂

I am obsessed with my family (not in the unhealthy way, but like the when they are sad I’m sad kind of way). They are the people that know me better then I know myself. They are the people who love me anyway. I firmly believe that families can be together forever, and how grateful I am to know that these relationship I’ve been blessed with can last forever. My Mother’s side of the family is Greek, and my Father’s is German. My Mother raised my siblings and I with a traditional Greek Easter every year. You know that movie “My big, fat, Greek wedding“? I honestly, truthfully have a family member for each cast member in that script. Sometimes I think my wedding may really turn out like that! As crazy as my family may be, I love each of them more then I can comprehend. So let me introduce to these crazy people I call mine. They each teach me something, and bring something to my life that has made me who I am today.

Like my Dad, who has taught me what it means to be dedicated to what you believe in. I have more respect for my Dad, then anyone else I’ve ever had the chance to meet. He has shown me how to commit to something whole heartedly, and sacrifice for what is right. He is my greatest example, and the lighthouse to my life when it gets a little stormy.

I have 4 younger siblings. I may not have always liked them, but I have always loved them. At the end of the day they are the ones I know I can rely on.

Jake is the oldest of my littles. Walking around at 6′ “5, most people think he’s older than me. Jake has a zest for life that can’t be found any where else. He is passionate about what he believes, and isn’t scared of anything. Except for turtles…but I’m not allowed to talk about that. He may give off a tough guy vibe, but is the softest of teddy bears. He has a twin, Kayla. Or KB as I call her. Nobody thinks they are twins since she is only 5′ “4. KB is the epitome of kindness. I swear if you look close enough, you can see her halo. She radiates with a light that you can’t help but want to emulate. She exudes compassion to every soul she comes in contact with. I have told her since we were kids, that my greatest wish is to be like her when I grow up.

Sean is the next little on the list. We are 8 years apart, and he was born at the stage of life where all I wanted to play was mommy. I made all the girls at school jealous, because I had a real live baby to play with at home, not just a doll. He has been my little buddy ever since. In my opinion one of Sean’s greatest attributes is how loyal he is to those he loves. And when the boy loves someone, he loves them deep. Like would do anything, and be everything he could for them. He is the epitome of cool. At least he likes to think he is ;). Everyone wants to be around him, and he makes everybody feel like a somebody. I think that’s a rare talent to have, and one I hope he always holds on to.

Emily is the last of my littles. I was 14 when she was born. She is the only sibling I remember meeting. She was so little and I was scared to hold her, because I didn’t want to break her. Although she hasn’t been in our family for long, I can’t imagine our life without her! She is the sassiest in all the land. But with a little spice, comes something really nice. For as young as she is, she is wise beyond her years. Sometimes she offers better advice then people triple her age. She’s an old soul, and is the only kid I know that would rather go to Sephora than the Disney store. That’s what you get when you are raised with a bunch of teenagers!

Last, but most definitely not least, my precious Mama. She is the most important person in my life. She brings me down to earth, and isn’t afraid to call me out when I am wrong. She is my #1 supporter, and my best friend. As my fiercest protector she has defended me through my weakest times, and is the one person I know has my best interest at heart. I am grateful for the bond I am able to have with her, and that I have been blessed to learn from such an example. She is epitome of secret acts of service, and I hope I emulate at least a piece of the light she shares with the world. She is a warrior, and I hope to one day be half the mamma she is to me and my 4 littles. She has taught me how to be a dreamer, and that the worst thing one can do is sit on the sidelines and watch as life goes by. She’s shown me how to work, and where to turn when life gets a little too rough to handle on my own. Her family is literally her world. She does everything for us, and puts superwoman to shame.  I could keep blabbing about how incredible my mom is, but she doesn’t really like mushy stuff…so let me get to the point of this post:

Everyone is born into a family, but not everyone is blessed with a family. But some really ridiculously lucky people, like me, are. Some people aren’t blessed with the mentality that family should be your top priority, but I was. And because I was, I feel an immense amount of responsibility to promote that to the rest of the world. Family is not always what you are born into, (I’ve got another post for that one later) but the ones in your life who have your back even when you’re wrong. Family are the ones who love you even when you may think you don’t deserve it. Family are the people who drop everything to be your anything when you need it most. The reason I listed all of my family members and what they’ve taught me is to #1 show my mom I really do love them, and #2 because family, regardless of the roles within the unit, can be some of our greatest teachers. But the only reason I know all of this, is because of the example of my Mother. There is this quote in “My big fat Greek wedding” that explains that the Wife/Mother of the family is the neck, and turns the head any way she wants. Luckily for me, my Mom turned our family into a fiercely loyal, forgiving, and eternal unit. Granted she didn’t do it alone, my Dad has been by her side every step of the way but it’s my Mom’s birthday not his ;). Because of her example I have a desire to do right, to give back, and to help others find what family means to them. Thank you Mom, and happiest of birthdays.

Love always and forever,

Monkey

2 thoughts on “The most important unit in the world

Leave a Reply

